Follow us on


United Arab Emirates players receive their medals for third place
© Getty Images

FIFA World Cup™ history* *
After first attempting to secure a FIFA World Cup™ berth at Mexico 1986, United Arab Emirates did not have to wait long to reach the promised land. Making their breakthrough at Italy 1990, the newcomers struggled in a tough group alongside West Germany, Yugoslavia and Colombia, exiting the competition at the first hurdle with only Khalid Ismail's goal against the eventual winners to show for their efforts.**

The team*
Despite reaching the final of the AFC Asian Cup in front of their own fans in 1996, UAE did not come close to winning another tournament until their victory at the 2007 Gulf Cup of Nations. A year later, their youngsters tasted glory at the AFC U-19 Asian Championship and thus opened up a spot at the 2009 FIFA U-20 World Cup and 2012 Olympic Football Tournament. As for the seniors, they reclaimed their Gulf Cup crown in 2013 and qualified for the 2015 Asian Cup, where they finished third

The coach*

The stat*
1 – *
The number of times UAE have appeared at a World Cup and the number of goals they have scored at the finals.

The former stars**
Adnan Al Talyani, Muhsin Musabah, Ali Thani Jumaa, Khalid Ismail, Nasir Khamees, Zuhair Bakheet, Fahad Khamees