Follow us on


FIFA Women's World Cup 2019™


Nigeria were crowned the 2018 Women's Africa Cup of Nations champions
© African Football Media

FIFA Women’s World Cup record

Nigeria are one of seven sides that have yet to miss a single FIFA Women’s World Cup™, a proud record they will continue at France 2019. Since appearing at the inaugural world finals in 1991, the Super Falcons have only progressed beyond the group phase once, when they made the quarter-finals in 1999.

The road to France

The Nigerians booked their latest world finals appearance by winning the CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations for a ninth time, though they were made to work hard for it. After losing to South Africa in the group phase and finishing second behind them, the Super Falcons failed to score in either their semi-final against Cameroon or the final against Banyana Banyana, winning both matches on penalties.

The coach

Experienced Swedish coach Thomas Dennerby took charge of the Super Falcons in January 2018, having previously coached Sweden’s senior women’s team between 2005 and 2012, during which time he guided them to third place at Germany 2011. Dennerby continued to work with the Swedish FA thereafter as an analyst and scout.

The stat

9 - The number of times Nigeria have won the Women’s Africa Cup of Nations. The only two occasions on which the Super Falcons have missed out on the title to date came in 2008 and 2012, with Equatorial Guinea lifting the trophy both times.