Follow us on


FIFA Women's World Cup


USA pose for a photo
© Getty Images

FIFA Women’s World Cup record

Current champions USA are the most successful team in FIFA Women’s World Cup history, winning three of the seven trophies to date (1991, 1999 and 2015) as well as having participated in every Women’s World Cup finals and finishing on the podium each time. The nation’s worst performance in competition history is a third-place finish in 1995, 2003 and 2007. To put their dominance into perspective, they have lost just four matches in the 43 they've plated and have a +77 goal difference in their history in the competition. They triumphed in the most recent tournament at Canada 2015, defeating 2011 champions Japan 5-2 in the final thanks to a first-half hat-trick from Carli Lloyd.

The road to France

USA cruised through the CONCACAF Women’s Championship in October 2018, defeating Mexico 6-0, Panama 5-0 and Trinidad and Tobago 7-0, beating Jamaica 6-0 in the semi-finals, which sealed their qualification to France 2019. In the final, they beat rivals Canada 2-0 to claim their record eighth regional title—no other country has won more than two.

The coach

Jill Ellis brings vital experience to the USA squad to France, as she orchestrated the team’s triumph at the Women’s World Cup Canada 2015. That success also saw her named FIFA Women's World Coach of the Year in 2015. The Stars and Stripes have had stable leadership in the England-born Ellis since she took charge of the national team back in May 2014. She has a depth of knowledge of football in USA as she’s been involved in the programme on-and-off since 2000.

The stat

6 - Forward Alex Morgan scored multiple goals in six of her 17 appearances for the USA women’s national team in 2018 (as of 18 October).