Follow us on
FIFA U-20 World Cup

Korea Republic 2017 in numbers

FIFA U-20 World Cup Trophy

With just a few days to go until the latest FIFA U-20 World Cup, * *takes a statistical look at Korea Republic 2017 and the tournament's history.

4 FIFA tournaments Korea Republic have hosted so far: the FIFA Confederations Cup (2001), the FIFA World Cup™, the FIFA U-17 World Cup (2007) and the FIFA U-20 World Cup. The ‘grand slam’ of hosting all four of FIFA's 11-a-side men's tournaments has been achieved by only two other countries previously – Japan and Mexico.

674 U-20 World Cup graduates have gone on to compete in the senior FIFA World Cup™, while 32 have lifted the most coveted Trophy in the beautiful game.  Among them, only ten players have won both the FIFA U-20 World Cup and the FIFA World Cup™: Bebeto, Iker Casillas, Dida, Dunga, Jorginho, Diego Maradona, Carlos Marchena, Muller, Claudio Taffarel and Xavi Hernandez. 

90 different countries have been represented at the U-20 World Cup during the 21 editions since 1977, with newcomers Vanuatu and Vietnam set to make their debut at Korea Republic 2017. Coincidentally, the latest debutants herald from the same region that the same fresh pair from New Zealand 2015: Fiji from Oceania and Myanmar from southeast Asia.

14 seconds is all it took Nigeria's Monday Odiaka to score the fastest goal in U-20 World Cup history against Canada in 1985. His compatriot, John Owoeri, netted the second-quickest, four seconds shy of the record. But if this seemingly unbreakable record is to be shattered, it could well be during this tournament. Recent changes to kick-off rules now allow players to attempt audacious efforts directly from the centre spot.

13 goals were registered during the highest-scoring match in U-20 World Cup history: Brazil's 10-3 win over Korea Republic at Malaysia 1997. Future *Seleção *internationals Fernandao and Ze Elias posted braces apiece in the contest, while Adailton was on target six times in an incredible 39-minute spell. Remarkably, Brazil repeated the ten-goal feat at the same edition, registering a 10-0 thrashing of Belgium - the tournament's biggest-ever win - just three days later.

11 goals at the 2001 edition not only earned Javier Saviola the adidas Golden Shoe, but set a tournament record that still stands. The former Argentina striker's predatory skills helped *La Albiceleste *clinch the 2001 crown with a tournament record haul of 27 goals, and he remains the U-20 World Cup's all-time leading scorer.

8 different U-20 World Cups - a tournament record - were overseen by Les Scheinflug as coach of Australia. Other U-20 coaching veterans include the esteemed Jose Pekerman, who won three of the four U-20 World Cups in which he led Argentina, Berti Vogts, Carlos Queiroz, Raymond Domenech and Ange Postecoglou.

0 foreign coaches have won a FIFA U-20 World Cup title, with all 20 winning coaches having been natives of the country that triumphed.

6 U-20 World Cup titles (1979, 1995, 1997, 2001, 2005 and 2007) have established Argentina as the tournament's most successful team. Brazil follow on five, with two-time winners Portugal are the only other country to have lifted the trophy more than once. Ghana are the only African side to have won the title, in 2009.

5 consecutive U-20 World Cups have now kicked off without the tournament's reigning champions. Serbia, winners in 2015, failed to qualify to defend their title in Korea Republic, following in the footsteps of France in 2015, Brazil in 2013, Ghana in 2011 and Argentina in 2009.

Recommended Stories