Kano State is a located in North-Western Nigeria and borders Katsina to the north-west, Jigawa to the north-east, and Bauchi and Kaduna to the south. The capital of Kano State, which has the highest population in Nigeria with 9,383,682 people, is Kano. The state has 44 local government areas.

Rain comes earlier to the southern part of Kano state, where the rainfall is heaviest and longer-lasting. Here, the rain starts in April, with the record amount standing at 1300mm-per-annum. In contrast, the northern part receives is usually affected around June or July, and with the highest amount there standing at 700mm-per-annum.