Follow us on
FIFA Puskás Award

The FIFA Puskás Award in numbers

FIFA Puskás Award

kilometres per hour was the stunning speed at which Cristiano Ronaldo’s strike travelled en route to the Porto net – the fastest FIFA Puskás Award winner. The then Manchester United No7 struck the ball from 39.6 yards out – another record for the honour.


is the surprisingly high percentage of FIFA Puskás Award conquerors to have been scored from inside the penalty area. Neymar winning it was indebted to six Flamengo players failing to check him, Wendell Lira’s owed to a body-swivelling scissor-kick, and Olivier Giroud’s to a behind-the-body looping flick.


years and 172 days is the age that makes Neymar the youngest scorer of a FIFA Puskás Award winner. Riley McGree, should he triumph later this month for his extraordinary flick, would be four days shy of breaking the Brazilian’s record. Zlatan Ibrahimovic, at 31 years and one month, is the oldest, though he will lose that distinction if Cristiano Ronaldo or Ricardo Quaresma wins this year.

FIFA Puskás Award

See also

FIFA Puskás Award

of the FIFA Puskás Award nominees were scored in the UEFA Champions League. Its closest rival, the FIFA World Cup™, produced nine. Spain’s La Liga and England’s Premier League were the settings for five apiece – a joint-high for a domestic league.


of the 100 FIFA Puskás Award nominations have gone to both Argentina and Brazil. Lionel Messi has claimed six for Argentina, with the others courtesy of Lisandro Lopez, Daniel Luduena, Carlos Tevez and Alejandro Camargo, while Neymar has got five of Brazil’s, with Grafite, Nilmar, Camilo Sanvezzo, Wendell Lira and Marlone claiming the remainder. The nations with the next highest number of nominations are France (8), Spain (6) and Mexico (5), while Germany haven’t received a single one.


of the 9 FIFA Puskás Award-winning goals helped their scorers’ sides to victory. Funnily, the exception, Neymar’s in 2011, seemed all but certain to push Santos to three points. It put them 3-0 up, at home, only for a Ronaldinho hat-trick to inspire Flamengo to an implausible 5-4 win.


successive years had a female nominee for the FIFA Puskás Award: Kumi Yokoyama (2010), Heather O'Reilly (2011), Olivia Jimenez (2012), Louisa Necib and Lisa De Vanna (both 2013), Stephanie Roche (2014), Carli Lloyd (2015), Daniuska Rodriguez (2016) and Deyna Castellanos (2017). Roche came the closest to winning it, with her three-touch treasure finishing second behind James Rodriguez’s pearler.


nominations for the FIFA Puskás Award is the unprecedented total Lionel Messi has received. ‘The Atomc Flea’ was shortlisted for his gems against Valencia in 2010, Arsenal in 2011, Brazil in 2012, Athletic Bilbao in 2015, USA in 2016 and Nigeria in 2018, but he is yet to emerge triumphant. Neymar (five) and Zlatan Ibrahimovic (three) are the only other players with more than two nominations, with both having won it.


of the 9 FIFA Puskás Award-winning goals were first touches: the Hamit Altintop, Miroslav Stoch, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Wendell Lira, Faiz Subri and Olivier Giroud efforts. Cristiano Ronaldo took three touches, James Rodriguez took two – a chest and volley – and Neymar took six, played a one-two, and then another five to score his belter.


successive FIFA Puskás Award winners had been right-footers until James Rodriguez triumphed for his left-foot volley against Uruguay. Olivier Giroud, in 2017, is the only other player to grab the gong for the lefties.


FIFA Puskás Award nominees is what the 2008/09 UEFA Champions League and the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia™ produced – a joint-record for one edition of a competition. Emmanuel Adebayor, Cristiano Ronaldo, Michael Essien and Andres Inietsa got them in the former (Essien and Iniesta uniquely in the same game), while Ricardo Quaresma, Lionel Messi, Benjamin Pavard, Denis Cheryshev delivered them in the latter.


of the 100 FIFA Puskás Award nominees was a goalkeeper. Oscarine Masuluke’s 11th-hour equaliser for Baroka against Orlando Pirates finished runner-up to Olivier Giroud’s beauty in 2017. Only one header has earned a nomination: Robin van Persie’s sui generis goal against Spain at Brazil 2014.

Recommended Stories

FIFA Puskas Award 2018 - THE NOMINEES

The Best FIFA Football Awards™

FIFA Puskas Award 2018 - THE NOMINEES

03 Sep 2018

Hyundai Anatomy of a Goal: James Rodriguez

2014 FIFA World Cup™

Hyundai Anatomy of a Goal: James Rodriguez

02 Mar 2018

Liverpool v Everton - Premier League

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Salah's magical moment

14 Sep 2018

Iran v Portugal: Ricardo Quaresma of Portugal celebrates with teammate Cristiano Ronaldo 

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Quaresma's trivela treat

13 Sep 2018

France v Argentina: Round of 16 - 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia


Pavard’s perfect pearler

12 Sep 2018

Lionel Messi of Argentina celebrates after scoring

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Messi finds the perfect control, touch and finish

11 Sep 2018

Uruguayan Giorgian De Arrascaeta, of Brazilian team Cruzeiro

The Best FIFA Football Awards

De Arrascaeta's moment of magic

09 Sep 2018

Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid scores his sides second goal 

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Ronaldo’s gravity-defying acrobatics

08 Sep 2018

Riley McGree of Newcastle Jets against Melbourne City


McGree’s miracle moment

09 Sep 2018

Lazaros Christodoulopoulos, AEK Athens

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Lazaros hitting the highlight reels

07 Sep 2018

Denis Cheryshev of Russia celebrates after scoring

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Cheryshev sparks Russian dreams

06 Sep 2018

Super sub Bale scores spectacular winner!

The Best FIFA Football Awards

Bale's bicycle bolt from the blue

05 Sep 2018