Follow us on


FIFA Women's World Cup


Canada pose for a photo
© Getty Images

FIFA Women's World Cup record

Absent from the inaugural edition in 1991, Canada made their tournament debut four years later in Sweden. Since then, the North Americans have never missed out, though it took them until 2003 to post their first victory. The Canucks won two games during the group stage that year and also triumphed in the quarter-finals before falling to Sweden in the semi-finals. They then succumbed to arch-rivals USA in the play-off for third place and finished fourth overall, which remains their best-ever performance. Canada were hosts of the most recent edition in 2015, but could only reach the last eight after England ended their dreams of lifting the trophy on home soil.

The road to France

Automatic qualifiers for the 2015 Women's World Cup as hosts, Canada did not take part in the 2014 CONCACAF Women's Championship. As a result, they had to reacquaint themselves with the continental showcase when they returned in October 2018. Canada and USA's regional dominance is such that neither side was ever truly in doubt of sealing their ticket to France 2019, but the Canucks completed their task with swagger. Kicking off with a 2-0 defeat of Jamaica, they beat Cuba 12-0 and Costa Rica 3-1 during the group stage before sweeping aside Panama 7-0 in the semi-finals, a comfortable win that secured their qualification. That left them with a chance of clinching their third continental title in the final, but that proved a step too far. Hosts and world champions USA came out on top, as Canada had to settle for a second-place finish.

The coach

Danish coach Kenneth Heiner-Moller has held the reins since January 2018, taking charge of a team developed over seven years by predecessor John Herdman, who oversaw bronze-medal finishes at the last two Women's Olympic Football Tournaments. Already part of Canada's coaching staff at Rio 2016, Heiner-Moller stepped into the role with deep knowledge of the talented and experienced players at his disposal, including Christine Sinclair, Sophie Schmidt, Desiree Scott, Ashley Lawrence and Kadeisha Buchanan. Born in Gentofte in 1971, Heiner-Moller played as a professional in Denmark and Hungary, and coached the Danish women's national team from 2006 to 2013, notably steering them to the Women's World Cup China 2007.

The stat

24 - The number of goals scored by Canada at the 2018 CONCACAF Women's Championship. Four of those goals were scored by Christine Sinclair, who now boasts over 175 international goals to her name, having already registered nine times at the Women's World Cup.