Follow us on
FIFA Women's World Cup

Caribbean trio complete continental line-up

Jamaica's Chinyelu Asher against Antigua and Barbuda
  • Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago and Cuba stay in the hunt for France 2019
  • Caribbean trio complete final-eight in CONCACAF
  • Three automatic berths at France 2019 on offer in October

Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago and Cuba booked their places at the 2018 CONCACAF Women’s Championship as Caribbean zone qualifying drew to a close on Sunday.

Hosts Jamaica, also known as the Reggae Girlz, secured their spot on Friday with a 4-1 comeback win over Trinidad and Tobago, following on from two high-scoring victories against Antigua and Barbuda (9-0) and Bermuda (4-0).

T&T finished second with three wins from four matches following a 3-0 final-day victory over Bermuda. The Soca Princesses narrowly failed to qualify for the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup™ after an unlucky intercontinental play-off defeat against Ecuador.

Cuba claimed the third and final position despite concluding their campaign with a hefty 6-1 defeat against Jamaica. Nevertheless the Cubans were able to celebrate qualifying for their maiden continental championship

Taking place from 4-17 October in USA, the 2018 CONCACAF Women's Championship will serve as qualifiers for the FIFA Women's World Cup France 2019.

The top three teams will secure automatic tickets to France while the fourth-placed team will progress to a play-off against third-placed South American side Argentina.

Recommended Stories

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Panama, Costa Rica stay in the hunt for France 2019

30 Aug 2018

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Reggae Girlz aim to find their World Cup rhythm

21 Aug 2018

FIFA Women's World Cup™

Brazil confirm their supremacy, Chile make history

24 Apr 2018