Follow us on
FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

Germany, Spain and Finland qualify for Uruguay 2018

Lithuania U17 Girls v Germany U17 Girls - UEFA Under17 Girls European Championship
© Getty Images
  • European trio win berths to FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Uruguay 2018
  • ​Spain win fourth European title after dethroning holders Germany
  • Finland secured final berth by overcoming England

Germany, Spain and Finland are the three European nations to win berths to the FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Uruguay 2018, after the trio finished as the top three sides at the UEFA Women's U-17 Championship in Lithuania.

Germany routed England 8-0 in the first semi-final, with Shekiera Martinez leading the way in the goals category with a hat-trick. Spain edged Finland 1-0 in the day's other semi-final thanks to Eva Navarro's strike in the 52nd minute.

Finland then saw off England 2-1 in the match to determine the third-placed side, with Annika Huhta and Jenni Kantanen's second-half goals turning the game on its head after Jessica Park's first-half opener to secure their country's ticket to Uruguay.

In Monday's final, a pair of second-half goals from Navarro earned Spain a fourth European title, as they defeated holders Germany 2-0.

Germany have played in all five FIFA U-17 Women's World Cups, with their best finish coming in the inaugural edition in 2008 when they finished in third place. Spain have qualified for three U-17 Women's World Cups, having finished in third place in 2010, as runners-up in 2014 and in third place in 2016.

Finland will be heading to their first-ever U-17 Women's World Cup, making their debut at the sixth edition of the tournament after its inception in 2008.

The FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup Uruguay 2018 takes place from 13 November to 1 December in the Host Cities of Colonia del Sacramento, Maldonado and Montevideo.

Joining Germany, Spain and Finland at Uruguay 2018 will be Colombia, Brazil and hosts Uruguay (CONMEBOL); Cameroon, Ghana and South Africa (CAF); Japan, Korea DPR and Korea Republic (AFC) and New Zealand (OFC).

The CONCACAF U-17 Women’s Championship will resume play from 6-12 June 2018 in Bradenton, Florida, USA, where three berths to Uruguay 2018 will be up for grabs.

All related documents

Recommended Stories

FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup

Cameroon, Ghana book tickets to Uruguay 2018

18 Feb 2018

FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup 2018

Uruguay 2018: More than just an emblem launch

17 Nov 2017

FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup 2018

Morales: World Cup can only be positive for Uruguay

24 Jan 2018

FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup 2018

New Zealand dominate to maintain perfect record

21 Aug 2017

FIFA U-17 Women's World Cup 2018

Uruguay 2018's Official Emblem unveiled

16 Nov 2017