Follow us on
FIWC 2013

Who will be crowned best of the best on FIFA 14?


Today at Gamescom in Cologne, four elite FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC) players will be lucky enough to get some exclusive game-time with EA SPORTS™ FIFA 14 before the latest edition of everyone’s favourite virtual football game is released to the public. FIFA 14 for the Playstation®3 will hit North American shelves on 24 September with a worldwide release a few days later. 

Defending FIWC Champion Bruce Grannec, two-time winner Alfonso Ramos (2008, 2012), Francisco Cruz (2011 champion) and reigning German national champion Kai Wollin will get to try out the newest edition of the FIFA-series during their visit to Gamescom 2013. The champions will be given some brief training-time with FIFA 14 before being thrown into a high-stakes battle for the FIWC Champions Trophy!

Revenge and redemption
It was only a few months ago that Grannec, Wollin and Ramos were in Madrid standing shoulder to shoulder with the world’s best FIFA 13 gamers, trying to slide, dribble and score their way to the gold medal match where the coveted FIFA Interactive World Cup trophy awaited. Ramos failed to progress past the group stage, while the German champion was knocked out in a tense 2-1 quarterfinal with eventual silver medalist Andrei Torres Vivero. In the end Bruce ‘The Machine’ Grannec claimed another title for France. The German and Spaniard will be looking to redeem their FIWC 2013 performances with victory in Cologne. Standing in their way are 'The Machine’  - current holder of both the Champions Trophy and the FIWC title - and Portugal’s Francisco Cruz, the youngest player to ever win the FIWC. Cruz was absent from the FIWC13 Grand Final line-up and will be eager to remind gamers of his virtual quality in Cologne.

In the maiden FIWC Champions Trophy tournament, held at the home of the EA SPORTS FIFA-series in Vancouver on 12 September 2012, Grannec defeated Ramos to become the first player to ever win the trophy. Will Grannec be able to do the double? Will Ramos have his revenge? Can national hero Wollin go the distance on home soil or will ‘King of Crosses’ Cruz beat them all? Follow the FIWC on Twitter to follow all the action today from Cologne!

The Champions TrophyIn 2012, EA SPORTS started a new tradition of gathering four FIWC champions for an exclusive preview of the next edition of the EA SPORTS™ FIFA series. The FIWC Champions are put on the spot as they are handed the new game, and thrown into a mini-tournament with nothing to rely on but their instinct and FIFA skills from past editions. The mini-tournament winner walks away with the Champions Trophy, an honour only the best of the best get to achieve. is at Gamescom 2013 and will be bringing you news, videos and photos from the FIWC Champions Trophy. Did you know that the FIWC is on Facebook? Visit our Facebook page to stay up to date on all the latest news and announcements from the world’s largest gaming tournament.

Recommended Stories

FIFA Interactive World Cup 2012

Champions visit EA SPORTS

11 Sep 2012

FIFA Interactive World Cup 2013

Seven lucky Quiz winners announced

16 Aug 2013

FIFA Interactive World Cup 2013

Albiol: I love video games

06 May 2013

FIFA Interactive World Cup 2013

A machine, a flowerpot and a human adventure

01 Jun 2013