Four of the world’s best virtual footballers gathered at Gamescom 2013 in Cologne on 21 August to put EA SPORTS™ FIFA 14 to the test in the ultimate competitive environment – The FIFA Interactive World Cup (FIWC) Champions Trophy.

With five interactive world cups and several national titles between them, Bruce Grannec (France), Alfonso Ramos (Spain), Francisco Cruz (Portugal) and Kai Wollin (Germany) were eager to get their hands on FIFA 14. As special invitees to the Champions Trophy, the four gamers were able to attend this year’s Gamescom – the world’s largest annual trade fair for interactive entertainment – for some exclusive competitive time with EA SPORTS newest edition of the FIFA-series.

The Cologne event was the first time that the full retail version of FIFA 14 has been presented in public, making the 2013 Champions Trophy a unique and memorable experience for everyone involved. FIFA 14 will be released worldwide in late September. After some brief training on the new game, the champions were thrown into the deep end, going head-to-head in a knockout, winner-take all, mini-tournament known as the FIWC Champions Trophy. "The game is great, more real year after year,” said two-time FIWC Champion Alfonso Ramos from Spain, “We need to play it more and more, but they did a great job.”

I am very happy. It's the most important title I won after the two FIWC titles.

2013 Champions Trophy winner Alfonso Ramos

Champions Trophy
After some surprises in the opening rounds, the semi-finals were dominated by defending champion Bruce Grannec and two-time champion Alfonso Ramos. The 2013 Champions Trophy Final would be a repeat of both the FIWC12 Gold Medal match and the 2012 Champions Trophy. With four titles between them, Grannec and Ramos put on a spectacular display. The Spaniard however, exacted his Champions Trophy revenge with clinical precision, winning the Final 3-1 to wrestle the title from the Frenchman. “I am very happy. It's the most important title I won after the two FIWC titles,” said Ramos who will feel he has earned a bit of redemption after failing to progress past the group stage at the 2013 Grand Final in Madrid.

Match 1: Bruce Grannec 0–0 Kai Wollin
Match 2: Alfonso Ramos 2–0 Francisco Cruz
Match 3: Francisco Cruz 2-1 Bruce Grannec
Match 4: Kai Wollin 2-1 Alfonso Ramos
Match 5: Bruce Grannec 3–3 Alfonso Ramos
Match 6: Kai Wollin 3-2 Francisco Cruz

Semi-Final 1: Kai Wollin 2-3 Bruce Grannec
Semi-Final 2: Alfonso Ramos 2-0 Francisco Cruz

Final: Bruce Grannec 1-3 Alfonso Ramos

Champion of Champions
Having started in 2012 at the home of EA SPORTS FIFA in Vancouver, the Champions Trophy has become an annual fixture on the FIWC calendar. Taking place during the virtual football off-season - a well-deserved rest period between editions of the FIFA Interactive World Cup - the FIWC and presenting partners EA SPORTS gather four champions for the elite tournament.

FIWC14 start date announced! 
The Champions Trophy wasn’t the only bit of FIWC excitement in Cologne. The FIFA Interactive World Cup also unveiled its impressive new FIWC emblem and officially announced the start date for the 10th edition of the world’s largest gaming tournament. FIWC 2014 will kick-off on 1 October 2013 and run until 31 March 2014. With over 2.5 million players officially competing in FIWC 2013, the 2014 edition of the world’s largest gaming tournament promises to be even bigger and more competitive than ever before.

To stay up to date on all the latest FIWC news, announcements and videos, follow the FIWC on Twitter and become a fan of the official FIWC Facebook page.