Follow us on
FIFA Club World Cup

Barcelona trio sweep awards

FC Barcelona players Lionel Messi (L), Luis Sualez (C) and Andres Iniesta (R) hold the silver, gold and Bronze ball trophies

As the final whistle blew to bring the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2015 to a close, Luis Suarez was named player of the tournament by FIFA’s Technical Study Group (TSG). The Barcelona and Uruguay striker was presented with the adidas Golden Ball and the Alibaba E-Auto Award for two outstanding performances in which he scored five goals in total. brings you a round-up of all the tournament’s awards.

adidas Golden Ball and Alibaba E-Auto Award: Luis Suarez (Barcelona)The Uruguay international was the standout performer of this year’s FIFA Club World Cup, dazzling crowds with his finishing prowess, unwavering dedication and boundless enthusiasm. He guided his team to the final almost singlehandedly by scoring three goals against Guangzhou Evergrande before adding a further two strikes in the deciding match. Despite equalling Cesar Delgado as the competition’s all-time leading scorer, Suarez’s vital contribution involved more than just goals. He constantly troubled opposition defenders, posed a threat with practically every move he made and did not shirk from his own defensive duties. Winning the adidas Golden Ball and the Alibaba E-Auto Award crowns a successful year for the 28-year-old, who can now celebrate clinching both the FIFA Club World Cup 2015 title and its most prestigious individual accolade.

adidas Silver Ball: Lionel Messi (Barcelona)After being forced to miss the semi-final against Guangzhou Evergrande through illness, the Argentinian superstar returned in time to face his countrymen and show off his considerable skills in the final. The River Plate defence struggled to contain Messi throughout as he led his team’s many attacks with his remarkable pace, underlining the importance of his contribution to the side by scoring the opening goal that set the Spanish club on the road to victory. The 28-year-old also shone as an unselfish provider constantly on the lookout for his team-mates, and received the adidas Silver Ball in recognition of his formidable performance.

adidas Bronze Ball: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)As well as providing a vital link between defence and midfield, the Spain international also set Barcelona’s pace. Iniesta set up his team-mates with an array of clever passes, repeatedly tearing apart the opposition defence with his vision and awareness. By dictating the rhythm of both of the newly crowned FIFA Club World Cup champions’ matches, the 31-year-old earned himself the adidas Bronze Ball.

FIFA Fair Play Award winners: BarcelonaThe UEFA Champions League winners were not only the FIFA Club World Cup 2015’s most successful team but also its fairest. Collecting the FIFA Fair Play Award rounds off an extremely successful trip to Japan for Barcelona.

Recommended Stories

FIFA Club World Cup 2015

Barcelona celebrate FIFA Club World Cup title

20 Dec 2015

FIFA Club World Cup 2015

Suarez double secures world title

20 Dec 2015